Pinterest

There are so many new apps, websites, software, social media…. things, out there these days and some times it is hard to keep up so I though I would review a few of these for you.

The first site/app I am reviewing is Pinterest.

HISTORY: Pinterest was launched in March 2010 as an invite-only site. In August 2012 Pinterest no longer required an invitation to join.

So what is Pinterest?

Pinterest is all about inspiration.

Remember the good old days with paper and glue, when you would create a folder of ideas from magazine clippings for your next party, trip, or for your wedding, maybe it was a collection of recipes or might have been just for inspiration.

I know over the years I have collected newspaper clippings, pages from magazines and other assorted little books that came free with magazines. I have collected so much stuff that there has got to be a better way for me to store this stuff. I have tried folders, scrap books, baskets and over time I just don’t remember where things are anymore so I start to collect them again.

I have also shared things on Facebook just so that they are on my timeline and I can find them again when I need them but that doesn’t always work either, I have bookmarked things but then I end up with so many bookmarks that I can remember what everything is for or what was on my mind when I created my filing system.

Well that’s where Pinterest comes in.

Pinterest is the place where you can store all the things that inspire you, whether its a recipe that you want to try or a way to make the latest fashion piece yourself, maybe you are renovating your home or garden and you are looking for inspiration, it’s all there for you to create a board and pin things to it.

The first thing you will need to do is create an account. Like most things these days you can join with your facebook account. Once you have set up an account you can create boards. I have created a Recipe board, Party ideas, clothes, DIY and loads more. You can add to your boards by browsing what is already on Pinterest and selecting the “pin it” button on the item you have chosen and then choose the board you would like to pin it to.

On their Goodies page Pinterest explains how and from where you can add to your Pinterest account, on the web its as simply as dragging their “Pin it” button to your tool bar.

Pinterest also has a mobile phone app and an ipad app.

Happy Pinning

Xoxo

Learner Girl

Posted on May 23, 2013, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

